- Founded
- 2018
- Headquarters
- Seychelles
- Taker fee
- 0.1%
- 24h spot volume
- $5.2B
- Solvency evidence4.0
- Security record10.0
- Trading fees8.6
- Liquidity8.2
On the record against Bitget
1- Financial Services Agency of JapanDecided28 November 2024
Japan issued a warning to Bitget Limited for conducting crypto-asset exchange business with Japanese residents over the internet without registration, and published its name on the list of unregistered operators.
The FSA’s published list of persons conducting virtual currency exchange business without registration names the operator at Singapore, with Gracy Chen as its representative, for having "conducted crypto-asset exchange business with residents of Japan as counterparties through the internet" in breach of article 63-2 of the Payment Services Act. The same list carries an earlier entry against the same company from March 2023. Keep it in proportion: Japan registers no offshore exchange that will not accept its rules, so this is about market access rather than about customer money, and four of the eight exchanges ranked here are on the same list. It is still a regulator naming a company in public and leaving it there.
Financial Services Agency of Japan — the authority’s own document · Japan · The authority made this finding.
None of this moves the score on this page. The weights are published on the methodology page and they read licences, costs, payments, platforms and disclosures — there is no component for what an authority has done, and adding a penalty nobody could see would be worse than the gap. It is written here instead, above everything good about this broker, which is where we think it belongs.
Score breakdown
Method- Solvency evidence25%4.0
proof of reserves
- Security record20%10.0
No customer-funds breach on record
- Trading fees14%8.6
0.1% taker · 0.1% maker
- Liquidity10%8.2
$5.2B reported 24h spot volume
- Regulatory and legal record15%8.0
1 on record: warning
- Transparency8%3.3
1 of 3 disclosures published
- Evidence behind this record8%7.0
Read against an outside document, not at the company’s own pages
Fees and liquidity
- Taker fee
- 0.1%
- Maker fee
- 0.1%
- Reported 24h spot volume
- $5.2B
- Type
- Centralised
- Founded
- 2018
- Headquarters
- SC
Solvency and security
- Proof of reserves
- Published
- Third-party audit
- No
- Publicly listed
- No
- Last customer-funds breach
- None on record
- Users made whole
- —
- Insurance fund
- Yes
An exchange is a counterparty, not a wallet.
What we checked on Bitget
17 Sept 2026No breach on record and a large protection fund, against the thinnest corporate disclosure of the majors and two Japanese warnings — March 2023 and November 2024 — for running an exchange for Japanese residents without registration.
Named twice by the same regulator
Japan’s Financial Services Agency published a warning document naming Bitget Limited of Singapore, with Gracy Chen as its representative, on 28 November 2024, for having "conducted crypto-asset exchange business with residents of Japan as counterparties through the internet" without registration, in breach of article 63-2 of the Payment Services Act 1. The FSA’s standing list of unregistered operators carries the same company from an earlier warning in March 2023 2.
Four of the eight exchanges ranked here are on that list, warned on the same day, which is the proportion to keep in mind: Japan registers no offshore exchange that will not live inside its rules, so this is a statement about market access rather than about client money. Being named twice, nineteen months apart, is the part specific to this company.
What is not disclosed
Bitget does not disclose its operating legal entity on its own site and publishes no incident reports. That is the weakest transparency score of the eight, and it is the reason the only company name on this page — Bitget Limited of Singapore — came from a Japanese regulator’s warning document 1 rather than from the exchange.
Against that: no customer-funds breach on record, a proof-of-reserves publication, and a protection fund the company says is large. None of those is audited by a third party here, which is the ordinary state of this industry and the reason the solvency component treats a self-published snapshot as the weakest evidence it will take.
What the warnings turned into
Two warnings from the same regulator eventually produced a withdrawal. Bitget stopped accepting new registrations from Japanese residents in August 2026, and from November existing users there cannot open new positions or add to old ones across its product lines 3.
Elsewhere it is trying the other route: it applied in 2025 for authorisation under the EU’s markets in crypto-assets regime through the Austrian regulator, and as of the middle of 2026 that application had not been decided 3. A pending application is not a licence and it is not an enforcement matter either — it is a company choosing to ask rather than to route around, which is the opposite of what the Japanese warnings describe.
Both facts belong on a page a reader uses to decide where to open an account, because the question they are really asking is whether this exchange will take them, and keep taking them. On current evidence the answer depends heavily on where they live and is moving.
The figures, and where each one came from
- Entity named by Japan1
- Bitget Limited, Singapore
- Representative named1
- Gracy Chen
- Warning issued1
- 28 November 2024
- Earlier warning on the same list2
- March 2023
- Legal provision1
- Article 63-2 of the Payment Services Act
- Japan3
- New registrations stopped August 2026; positions closing from November
- EU authorisation3
- Applied in Austria in 2025, undecided in mid-2026
Still open
- Bitget applied for a MiCA licence in Austria and the application was still pending past the deadline. Whether it has since been granted is not settled here, and a pending application is not an enforcement matter either way.
- The size of the protection fund is the company’s own figure and nobody here has verified it.
Sources
3- 1Warning document — persons conducting crypto-asset exchange business without registration (Bitget Limited)
Financial Services Agency of JapanRegulator noticepublished 28 Nov 2024read 17 Sept 2026
- 2Names of persons conducting virtual currency exchange business without registration
Financial Services Agency of JapanRegulator noticeread 17 Sept 2026
- 3Criminal penalty risk drives Bitget out of Japan by year-end
The TokenistTrade pressread 17 Sept 2026
Every link goes to the document, not to a summary of it, and where it does not we say so on the entry. They carry nofollow like every other outbound link here, and none of them is an affiliate link — a source you are paid to cite is not a source. Where we have any connection to a publisher, it is printed above rather than left for you to find out.
What customers say
0 publishedNobody has written about this one yet. Reviews here are read, not counted: this ranking’s model was published without a reviews component.
Write about Bitget
Other exchanges
Full rankingBitget — common questions
Is Bitget safe?
Bitget has no customer-funds breach on record. On solvency evidence it publishes a proof of reserves. Neither is a guarantee — an exchange is a counterparty, and holding coins on one means trusting it.
What does Bitget charge?
0.1% taker and 0.1% maker at the lowest tier. Fee tiers fall with volume, so most readers pay the figures quoted here.
Does Bitget publish a proof of reserves?
Yes. Remember what that is: a snapshot the exchange chooses to publish, unaudited, saying nothing about liabilities. It is real evidence, but weaker than an audit.
